University of Engineering and Technology, Taxila

Department of Mathematical Sciences


Department of Mathematical Sciences was previously a part the Department of Basic Sciences under the Faculty of Basic Sciences & Humanities, which was established in 1975 as a part of the University College of Engineering, Taxila and is as old as the institution itself. With the inception of the institute as a University in 1993, the department has been placed under the Faculty of Basic Sciences and Humanities. The Department of Basic Sciences restructured and split into three major departments in August 2022 and the Department of Mathematical Sciences is one of them.

The Department of Mathematical Sciences offers three-degree programs: a four-year undergraduate program leading to BS degree in Mathematics, two-year postgraduate program leading to MS degree in Mathematics, and PhD Mathematics degree program. MS program in Mathematics was initiated in Fall-2014 and PhD program in Mathematics was initiated in Fall-2019. Whilst BS Mathematics is newly introduced by the Department at the university. The first intake of BS Mathematics is being taken in Fall-2023.

In addition, the department is also responsible for teaching mathematics and statistics courses to all undergraduate programs in each Engineering Faculty.


University of Engineering and Technology Taxila, Department of Mathematical Sciences, 051 9047871

About the university

The University campus is located on the outskirts of Taxila at a distance of 5 km from the city. It is situated near railway station Mohra Shah Wali Shah on Taxila-Havelian branch line....

Important websites

HEC Pakistan
Higher Education Commission Pakistan
PEC Pakistan
Pakistan Engineering Council

About Mathematical Sciences Dept.

UET Taxila